Graduation and Copenh(again)!!

First, it was so lovely to be back in Lawrence–I’m so glad I got to see everyone I did before I left! Thank you all for your love and support. It feels so hygge to have my US (and UK and friends from abroad!) friends and family here with me in spirit ❤

Graduation was a really beautiful ceremony. I sat with my friends in the covered amphitheater at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center, which is situated in the beautiful State Park in Saratoga Springs, NY. Wes Moore, Ann Rubenstein Tisch, and Oprah Winfrey were our three speakers. I was most impressed by Wes Moore’s speech. We read his book for required reading as freshmen, and then heard him speak on campus our first semester at Skidmore. It was a perfect way to end our time at Skidmore, and his speech was personal and inspiring. Oprah was okay. After the speeches, I was the third graduate to walk across the stage!

After graduation, my dad drove the things from my apartment back to Lawrence (thanks dad!). My mom and I took the train into New York City and met our friend Bre there (she was my babysitter when I was little); we had a lovely time walking around, going to shows, and meeting with friends before I left for Copenhagen. We saw Sweeney Todd downtown (great show) and Indecent at the Cort Theater (my favorite of the two).

And now I’m in Copenhagen!! I arrived on Thursday, and have been having a swell time adjusting to the summer here. It’s sunny until at least 9, and the sun doesn’t even fully set until around 10ish, and it’s still just May! It’s Ramadan now, and it must be quite challenging for Muslims to practice fasting in the north. The day lasts about 18 hours! On Saturday, Anton and I spent the day at his parents’ house–we played lawn games, barbecued a bunch of delicious meats and summer veggies, and then played canasta in the evening. It was so nice to see Marianne, Jannich, and Anton’s younger brother Georg again! I’m looking forward to spending more time with them this year.

The weather has been so lovely these past couple of days, and incredibly warm for Copenhagen. Everyone has been outside enjoying the sunshine! One thing I forgot about Copenhagen is that none of the houses have A/C–they don’t need it most of the year, but in the recent 85º F weather, it’s been unbearable to stay indoors! The small grocery stores, shops, and even many restaurants don’t have air conditioning!! But everyone says that it’ll be back down in the 70s soon. Tonight is a bit cooler and stormy. I love the weather so far but I think eventually I’ll miss the hot Kansas nights.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Edie Bogart says:

    Oh Sophie, I was able to see all the pictures of graduation, etc. Wonderful! I am so thrilled to hear from you. However, How can you long for hot Kansas nights?!
    Thank you! Thank you! Edie
    P.S. I am at my new apartment in town now. Just can’t go near my old home as it is too painful. I’m pretty well straightened out except for training Lottie to go out on a leash. She seems quite happy to stay inside now after a couple of weeks of it, so maybe I’ll just skip taking her out. She is not allowed to be loose in this place.
    Love, Edie

    Like

  2. love the update. thanks for posting.
    was wondering about commencement speakers.
    sweet trip.
    bon voyage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

