HOUSING ASSIGNMENT! (and 9 days left)

I’ll be staying in a residential community! (It’s a student dorm of all DIS US kids studying abroad). While this option was actually my last choice, after reading the info on it and Google street view viewing my neighborhood, I feel quite quite quite pleased and excited!

Here’s a blurb from the packet about my dorm:

“Peder Skrams Gade is located in the center of Copenhagen, right by the Royal Theater and the famous canals of Nyhavn. You are very close to the world’s longest walking street “Srøget,” where many shops are located. There is also a supermarket around the corner from where you’ll be living. It will take you around 15 minutes to get to DIS by foot, even less with public transportation, and approximately 5-10 minutes if you jump on a bike and do it the ‘Danish way.'”

Here’s where my place is on the map:

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 10.26.29 AM.png

I’m at the little balloon that says “Peder Skrams Gade 23,” which is SO SO SO close to Nyhavn (circled in red), and Paper Island, which is home to 30+ food trucks + food truck hall (noted with red triangle). 23 Peder Skrams Gade is also close to my classes (DIS – Study Abroad in Scandinavia, circled in red) and not far from Tivoli gardens (also circled in red).

They were for real when they said the metro, walk, or bike ride to my classes will be totes dece. According to Google Maps, it’ll take 15 minutes by train, 18 minutes on foot, or 6 minutes by bike! That’s really close! Some people have to commute 30+ minutes, haha!

 

Anyway, here are some Google maps street view photos of my beautiful neighborhood:

 

AND wow I’m seriously SO SO SO close to this street?! Wowowowow!

 

It’s becoming more and more real every day–I can’t wait to get there and actually walk down these streets myself! Or should I say walk down these “gader?” 😉

 


 

xoxo,

Soph

Leave a Reply

